Thread: Summer constantly wants to get on top of the new conure...

Default Summer constantly wants to get on top of the new conure...

hi,

I recently got a baby green cheek conure named Lucy. Summer is now 3 months and a half old, and Lucy is 3 months old. It's my first time with a conure so I didn't know what to expect, but so far Lucy has been demonstrating very quiet and calm behaviors.

When it comes to interaction, Summer is the bully. She loves chewing Lucy's tail or wings. She even tried to nibble on Lucy's nose. I'm not sure if that's her way of showing affection; if it is, Summer isn't doing such a great job because Lucy is very annoyed and often terrorized. Summer is free-flighted and Lucy came wing clipped and can't fly. Maybe that's what has determined their hierarchy.

Lucy's rather defensive and never approches or attacks Summer first. If Summer gets too annoying, shd just lightly touches Summer with her beak and Summer backs away. (I think birds are better at reading each other's language) But I know what Lucy can do with her beak, so I never let them interact unsupervised.

Now the thing that Summer does that bothers Lucy the most is that she constantly tries to get on top of Lucy's back. I don't know why. I think Summer is too young to demonstrate any sexual behavior. Can this mean something else, like show of dominance? Because Summer most certainly is the dominant one so far lol If she sees Lucy eating anything, playing with anything, she takes it away from her.

But she's more like an annoying older sister; she never, ever attacks Lucy.

Any comments are appreciated!

Default Re: Summer constantly wants to get on top of the new conure...