Thread: Couple quick questions

Default Couple quick questions

i've heard it's a myth that you need to have 2 lovebirds, and that, as a beginner, i should start with 1. But that if you only have 1 then you have to spend a lot of time with it, but nowhere does it say how much time. i could spend 2-3 hours monday-thursday with it and then the majority of the day friday-sunday. but is that enough? i dont want it to get lonely and start picking at itself.

Next, i've been told not to buy from a pet store or a breeder, but to adopt. i have no idea where to adopt a lovebird though.

and i'm also wondering about what if i randomly couldn't see it for a day, would it be sufficient to have someone stop by and feed it and let it out for a little bit.

and about how expensive are they up front, and to maintain per month roughly?

and, how frequently should i see an avian vet (assuming it's not doing anything that would appear as a symptom of an illness)

(feel free to add anything that could be important, i'm still scouring the forums for info, but any and all advice is greatly appreciated )

sorry about all the questions, but i'd really prefer to understand everything before i have a little lovebird that needs me to know

Default Re: Couple quick questions

Quote Originally Posted by CookieMonster View Post
    i've heard it's a myth that you need to have 2 lovebirds, and that, as a beginner, i should start with 1. But that if you only have 1 then you have to spend a lot of time with it, but nowhere does it say how much time. i could spend 2-3 hours monday-thursday with it and then the majority of the day friday-sunday. but is that enough? i dont want it to get lonely and start picking at itself.