Thread: new lovebird owner- should i let them out of their cages?

Default new lovebird owner- should i let them out of their cages?

hi! i recently got two lovebirds- jupiter and juno. i'm not entirely sure which is the male/female, and they're approximately 4 months old from a breeder. i got them around 10 days ago.

they stay in one cage, they feed each other and play around, groom each other. however, they never leave the cage, and i've never attempted to get them out.

this is my first time getting birds, and i want them to trust me. they don't fly around when i clean their cage from the inside, but they do sometimes climb as far away from me as possible or move onto the very corner of the cage. i'm not sure how to start taming them since there's two of them, and i'm not sure how to move them into a travel cage without scaring them (causing them to trust me even less).

i sing to them often, and i sit down with them while they're in the cage and they seem less scared.

now i'm wondering if i should just bring them to a restroom and just let them fly free after bird-proofing it? i don't know if i'll be able to get them back into their cages after but i read that they'll trust me if they know their environment. i'm really, really lost, but i want them to trust me and to not always be in their cage all the time.

thank you!

Default Re: new lovebird owner- should i let them out of their cages?

Hi and welcome to Lovebirds Plus Community! Congratulations on your 2 new lovies!

Two can be harder to work with but they will also have each other for companionship when you are not available. I, personally, keep my lovies in pairs (if that's what they want) and both will be friendly as long as I pay attention to them.