Thread: confused

Question confused

hi, haven't been on in quite awhile, I'm lola and rico's dad, chris.Well..... let me refrain that I'm Rica and lolo"s dad. I've had my birds since last febuary, (since they were eight weeks old) they have since matured and switched gengers lol. My question is this, when do they, or should i saw when do they first lay eggs? I'm pretty sure they are getting close. should i introduce a nesting box? now or discourage all the paper shreadding, also are they too young to be having there first clutch? thanks, chris

Default Re: confused

From what Ive read. I would not Introduce a Nest Box. If you in fact have a male and a female and they are to young to breed then this could be a risk for them. Egg Binding is one of those risks of breeding to young. Which is when an egg becomes stuck/broken insdie the female and can be fatal quick without vet treatment Immediately.
    Im new to lovebirds and hope some of the other more experienced ones can help you out more.
    Kelly

and welcome back I guess I should say!
    Im new myself. I get my first lovebird Late Nov-Early Dec YAY!!
    Hope to see you around here more. Would love to see pics of yor lovies to!!
    Kelly

thax kelly, and welcome too! they are ahandful they are

Hi Chris,

From what I can figure, your lovies are 10-11 mos old right now? While breeding at that age is not necessarily recommened or very desirable, it isn't unheard of... That being said, I don't think I would encourage it right now either. You might try removing shredibles and rearranging their cage(s). Take away things that would encourage them to start nesting (like happy huts) and restrict daylight hours.

If in spite of this eggs do appear, then you'll want to go ahead and let her have a place to lay the eggs and let her finish laying completely. Of course then you'll have to make the decision of what to do if the eggs are fertile too... So hopefully you'll be able to head this off before it becomes an issue.